SSHoF logoVera Pezer Team

Team (1990)


Canadian Women's Curling Champions

Vera Pezer TeamThe team of Vera Pezer, Sheila Rowan, Joyce McKee and Lee Morrison made history by winning three consecutive Canadian women's curling championships. That's a record that still stands today. The first title for this Sutherland club foursome occurred in 1971 at St. John's, Newfoundland. The team survived two tiebreakers to beat British Columbia 3-2 and then Alberta 7-2. In 1972, at the inaugural McDonald Lassie held in Saskatoon, Pezer's foursome lost its opening game, then reeled off eight straight wins.

In 1973, the Saskatchewan champions had seven wins and one loss heading into the final round. Pezer met undefeated Joan Ingram of Manitoba and scored an extra end victory. In the tiebreaker, Pezer's team scored a 4-2 win. There was no world competition at the time but this team is considered one of the finest to ever play the game. This team was inducted into the Canadian Curling Hall of Fame in 1976 and the Saskatchewan Hall of Fame in 1982.

Joyce McKee ** (second), Sheila Rowan (third), Vera Pezer (skip), Lee Morrison (lead)

** Deceased