SSHoF logo1990 U of S Huskies Football

Team (2000)


C.I.A.U. National Football Champions (Vanier Cup)

1990 U of S Huskies FootballThe Huskies finished first in Canada West with a record of six wins and two losses, beat the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds, 24-9, in the conference final and then beat Bishop's Gaiters, 41-13, to win the Churchill Cup.

For the Huskies, it was the second straight year they advanced to the Vanier Cup final at the Skydome in Toronto and this time, it was against St. Mary's Huskies. Saskatchewan dominated the early going, as quarterback David Earl engineered a 78-yard drive culminating in a four-yard touchdown run by Rob Symchyk.

They opened up the lead to 14-0 when Earl passed to Dan Farthing for a 13-yard touchdown.

St. Mary's got one touchdown back in the second quarter, struck for another in the third quarter and the game was tied at 14-14.

Saskatchewan moved ahead again on Phil Guebert's 11-yard field goal and then a nine-yard touchdown run by Earl and Guebert's convert. That put Saskatchewan up, 24-14. Chris Flynn rallied the St. Mary's team again, hitting Ian MacDonald with a 20-yard touchdown pass and then the convert pulled the easterners to within three points.

There was a storybook finish to the game. St. Mary's tried to win with a last-minute drive. In one of Flynn's scrambling plays, he was hit by Saskatchewan defensive end Don Bristow, Flynn fumbled the ball and Saskatchewan's Rob Dutton recovered the ball to preserve the victory.

Earl passed for 244 yards and won the Ted Morris Memorial trophy as most valuable player in the game, adding to the laurels he had won earlier as MVP in the Churchill Bowl game.

Nine Huskies - Rod Lessmeister, Dan Farthing, Errol Brown, Kim Pasloski, Kelvin Sander, Scott Hundseth, Greg Mamer, Phil Guebert, and Jason Huel - were voted Canada West all-stars and Brian Towriss was selected as Canada West coach of the year. Paslowski and Hundseth were voted to the All-Canadian team.

With the win, the Huskies became the first-ever Saskatchewan team to win a Canadian Intercollegiate football championship.

Front row: Dan Dewar, Bart Arnold, Kelvin Sander, Tim Irvine, Raymond Weins, Barry Radcliffe (Coach), Greg Galan (Coach), Mike Harrington (Coach), Brian Towriss (Head Coach), Jerry Friesen (Coach), Mark Anderson (Coach), Terry Eisler (Coach), Rob Symchyck, Dean Eiwanger, Scott Hundseth.
Second row: Dale Pitura, Calvin Hobbs, Phil Guebert, George Grant, Lee Evans, Marc Olson, John Kalmakoff, Rob Revering, Jeff Reinson, David Blackburn, Jason Olynyk, Scott Lessmeister, Errol Brown, Kyle Doerksen, Jason Huel, Rob Dutton, Dan Farthing, Scott Reeves, Tyler Sotnikow, Ryan Russell, Mike Schmolke, Don Bristow, Mark Loopkey, Rod Lessmeister, Kendall Kowalyk, Derek Wilkinson, Jeff Slabik, Whitney Kot, Dwayne Dmytryshyn, Ryan Parchman (Team Manger), Kim Pasloski, Greg Mamer.
Back row: Shane Reider, David Earl, Mark Dobrow, Todd Baker, Cory Flaman, Carey Prokop, Mark Poelzer, Trevor Fleischfresser, Joel Flory, Russell Dawson, Dan Stewart, Milan Casic, Mervyn Brice, Blair Lee, Wade Shrimpton, James Rakochy, Blaine Pho, Brad O'keefe, Lane Francis, Sam Khuber, David Strathdee, Sue Mamer (Trainer), Dr. Walter Hader (Physician). Missing: Val Schneider (Coach), Paul Rogal (Coach), Rod Outhwaite (Coach), Trainer Al Bodnarchuk (Trainer), David Rowe, Jeff Hagerty, Brian Eltom, Keith Putz, Shawn Stevens

Full Size Photo