SSHoF logo1989 Emily Farnham Team

Team (1993)


Canadian Senior Women's Curling Champions

1989 Emily Farnham TeamA Saskatoon team, skipped by Emily Farnham, won the Canadian senior women's curling championship in 1989.

The lineup started to fall into place when Farnham and Emily Heidt were teammates on a 1988 team, which won the province and posted a 5 and 5 record in the national tournament at Peterborough, Ont. For the 1989 season, Mary Todarchuk and Arlie Ellsworth joined Farnham and Heidt. The Saskatoon team won the Saskatchewan championship, by beating Marg Hoff of Weyburn in the finals at Carnduff.

They traveled to Kenora, Ont. for the Canadian finals. One of the oddities was each of their three defeats came in extra-end games, one against Quebec, one against British Columbia and one against Ontario. When the Farnham team won its last two games to finish with a 7 and 3 record, they qualified for a tiebreaker against British Columbia and won, 6-4.

In the semifinals, Farnham drew to the button for an 8-7 victory over New Brunswick.

In the final game, Saskatchewan faced Alberta. They stole two on the third end to take a 3-0 lead, stole singles again on the seventh and eighth and won the match, 6-2, in nine ends. Saskatchewan's ability to hit made it difficult for Alberta to get back into the game.

Farnham was voted the all-star skip by her competitors.

Arlie Ellsworth (lead), Emily Heidt (second), Mary Todarchuk (third), Emily Farnham (skip)