SSHoF logo1986-87 U of S Huskies Mens Track and Field Team

Team (2016)

Track and Field

U of S Huskies 1986-87 Mens Track and Field teamThe 1986-87 U of S Men's track and field team was unique by today's standards. The team was made up of all but one homegrown Saskatchewan boys.

After a very disappointing 85-86 season where the team placed dead last at the CIS championships, the team got back some key members and rebounded with a dominating season.

In 86-87 the team scored so many points in Canada West Championships that they secured victory after day one of a two day meet. The team went into the 86-87 CIS national championships with a chip on their shoulders. It was the small town prairie boys against the Eastern Canada big city powerhouse Universities. The team was determined not to be embarrassed like they had been with the previous seasons' last place finish.

It was time for a turnaround for the record books. At the meet, four team members were individual event national champions. These included Cyprian Enweani (60 meters), John Neufeld (high jump), Brian Thompson (600 meters) and Darryl Isbister (300 meters).The championship was not without adversity. Dave Ostertag, the team's best all around multi event athlete, who was the highest point scorer at the Canada West Championship that year was injured and could not compete. Two of the teams other athletes who were top ranked in the country were unable to compete in all their events. But the whole team including the rookies and relay alternate's, stepped up and had great meet performances. The team went on to win that 1986-87 CIS national championship.

It was truly a team effort. To further give measure of how this was a once in a generation group of talented athletes, John Neufeld, Kevin Wiseman, Mike Byers, Cyprian Enweani and Brian Thompson still hold the Huskie records in their individual events 30 years later.

But none of this could have been possible without the dedication, commitment and mentorship from the teams coaching staff, trainer and team manager. This group of individuals was brought together under the leadership of head coach, Lyle Sanderson that has won more national university team championships than all the other sports combined at the U of S.