SSHoF logo1983 Canadian Men's Five Pin Bowling Champions

Team (2008)


1983 Canadian Men's Five Pin Bowling ChampionsTom Paterson, Jack Walsh, Phil Smith, Don Johnson, Larry Boehr and Roy Shepperd were the top qualifiers in the Saskatoon Open men’s five-pin bowling trials in 1983.

It was their first step towards becoming the first Saskatoon men’s team to win a Canadian Open championship. The team, coached by Tony Bula, won the provincial championship in a close call. Saskatoon and Regina finished in a tie for first place but Saskatoon won the title because of a better for-and-against total in games against Regina.

The national finals were held in Thunder Bay where Saskatoon won 17 out of 21 matches and had the title locked up with two games to go. The 1983 finals were also significant because Paterson won the Canadian men’s singles with a 310-256 victory over Wayne Hein of Whitby, Ont.