SSHoF logo1979 U of S Huskies Volleyball

Team (1996)


C.I.A.U. National Volleyball Champions

1979 U of S Huskies Volleyball The 1978-79 Huskies became the first men's team from the University of Saskatchewan to win a Canadian University volleyball championship and the first men's team from Saskatchewan to win a national volleyball title at any level.

The feat was accomplished in only the third season after the program was introduced at the University. The Huskies went through the Canada West Conference with an undefeated record, placed three on the first all-star team and two on the second, and advances to the Canadian finals in Hamilton. In the final game, No. 2-ranked Saskatchewan played the No.1-ranked Manitoba Bisons and it was a classic. Each team had two wins. In the fifth game, Manitoba led, 9-3, at one point in the game but the Huskies rallied to win the title.

Murray Hill, who had introduced the men's program at the University, was selected Canada West coach of the year and CIAU coach of he year.

Brian Gamborg and Don Saxton were Huskies chosen to play for Canada's National Team.

Unique during the season, too, was that the University women's team also won the national title, the first time that both the men's team and women's team from University of Saskatchewan had ever won championships in the same sport.

Front row: Brian Sawatzky, Lawrence Wegner, Don Listwin, Bob Barrett, Andy Churko Back row: Lyle Fruson, Bruce Richards, Brian Gamborg, Don Saxton, Grant Gudmundson, Randy Funk, Kim Harris, Judy Weenk (Manager), Murray Hill (Coach)