SSHoF logo1978 Saskatoon Harmony Centre

Team (1991)


Canadian Senior Women's Softball Champions

1978 Saskatoon Harmony CentreTwo years after formation, Saskatoon Harmony Centre rose to the stature of Canadian women's softball champions. They were formed in 1976 under manager-coach Bob Stayner and with the sponsorship of Bill and Ron Boklaschuk; Harmony Centre won the Saskatchewan championship in 1976, won the province again in 1977 and then was primed for the 1978 run.

They won three and lost one in the round-robin, beating Milverton, Ont. and New Westminster, B.C. to win the A side. In the A-B final, they faced Milverton again, winning 1-0 on a strong pitching effort by rookie Brenda Staniforth. They finished the season, playing 78 games, winning 61 and losing 15.

By winning in 1978, they qualified to represent Canada at the 1979 Pan-American Games at Puerto Rico. They won eight games and lost three and finished in fourth place.

Front row: Maggie Nelson, Ann Tkachuk, Charlene Johnston, Irene Wallace, Denise Evans, Ardice Walter
Back row: Jamie Douglas, Helen Maupin, Heather Campbell, Brenda Staniforth, Deb Donald, Donna Veale, Chris Gervais, Diane Lynn, Kathy Tucker, Pat Wegner, Bob Stayner ** (Coach)