SSHoF logo1974 Emily Farnham Team

Team (1993)


Canadian Women's Curling Champions

A Saskatoon Nutana Club team of Emily Farnham, Linda Saunders, Pat McBeath and Donna Collins won the Canadian women's curling championship in 1974, going through with an undefeated record. It was the last team from northern Saskatchewan to win the national crown and the last to go through undefeated.

Farnham and Collins had been teammates for seven years; Saunders and McBeath joined the team at the start of the 1973-74 season.

It was a season in which the Farnham team played 120 games and lost only two - one a practice game against a men's team and the other in the A side of the northern playoffs.

They rebounded from the one playoff loss to win the northern championship and then beat Pat Buglass of Saskatoon in the final of a four-team provincial playoff.

At Victoria, they won the first seven in a row and going into the last day, Prince Edward Island at 6-1 was a serious contender. In the first draw of the final day, they beat British Columbia, 11-3, grabbing three on the first end and scoring three on the seventh to virtually put it away. Prince Edward Island's hopes were dashed by a loss to Ontario.

The Farnham team finished off the tournament with a 10-7 victory over Ontario, a game marked by a brilliant double kill by Farnham through a narrow port on the seventh. The shot gave Saskatchewan a 7-5 lead and when they scored three more on the eighth, they were home free.

Emily Farnham (skip)**, Linda (Saunders) Wagner (third), Pat McBeath (second), Donna Collins (lead)

** Deceased