SSHoF logo1963 Saskatoon Adilman Aces

Team (1987)


Canadian Women's Basketball Champions

1963 Saskatoon Adilman AcesThe 1963 Canadian Women's Basketball championships were held in Kelowna where three teams, the Saskatoon Aces, Okanagan Meikle Teddy Bears, and Edmonton Jasper Auto challenged for the National title in a double-knockout tournament. In the opening game, the Aces defeated the Teddy Bears by a score of 44-43, led by the 14 points of Judy Jenkin and 11 points of Diane Hanysh.

The second game saw the Aces coast to an easy 43-29 win over the Alberta representative, Edmonton Jasper Auto. The Aces were paced with 11 points from Judy Jenkin, Faye Herrick and Ruth Budney. The Aces' third game was the championship final, played against the Teddy Bears who had eliminated Alberta earlier.

Led by Judy Jenkin's 15 points and Diane Hanysh's 12 points, the Saskatoon Aces defeated the Teddies 48-42, winning their second national championship in four years.

Front row: Judy Jenkin **, Marlene Ackerman.
Second row: Warren Schweitzer (Assistant Manager/Coach), Faye Herrick, Bob Stayner ** (Coach), Gloria (Wasley) Daniels, Keith Coviello (Manager).
Top row: Diane Hanysh, Anita (Serblowski) Jamieson, Pat Dobie, Ruth (Budney) Wandzura, Margot (Little) Swayze

** Deceased