SSHoF logo1952 Saskatoon Quakers

Team (1992)


Pacific Coast Hockey League Champions

1952 Saskatoon QuakersA hotbed of senior hockey on the Prairies, Saskatoon was transformed into the home of a professional hockey team when the Saskatoon Quakers were accepted into the Pacific Coast League in 1951. In the 1951-52 season, the Quakers went through three coaching changes. After a strong second-place finish, they won the playoffs by beating Edmonton, Tacoma and Victoria. Hall of Famer Bill Cook started the season as coach but was called up at the end of November to coach the New York Rangers. Frank Eddolls joined the club for a 12-game stint as playing-coach but was recalled by the Rangers. Doug Bentley became the playing-coach on Jan. 1, 1952.

Saskatoon beat Edmonton in the first round, taking the fourth game, 3-2, on Bentley's goal at 11:23 of the second overtime period. They beat Tacoma three straight but the third game featured a Quaker comeback and ultimately a 4-3 victory on Neil Strain's goal at 6:30 of the first overtime. In the final, they beat Victoria, four games to two, with George Senick scoring a hat trick in the 8-4 final game.

The league was renamed the Western Hockey League in 1952-53 and Saskatoon continued to operate until the end of the 1955-56 season.

Member of the President's Cup champions were Lorne Worsley **, Jim Shirley ** and Ron Crone in goal; Bill Meindl, Murray Parker, Carl Kaiser ** and Howie Milford on defence; Alex Kaleta, Johnny Chad, Neil Strain, Ken Hunter, Cy Rouse, Alex Kuzma, George Senick, Tom Fowler, Chuck McCullough (Captain), Bobby Manson and Doug Bentley (Coach/Player) on the forward lines; C.P Derouch (President), Norman Couch (Co-Manager), Paul Schwimmer (Co-Manager), Dr. Barney McPhail (Physician)

** Deceased