History of the Saskatoon Sports Hall of Fame

The dream of a Saskatoon Sports Hall of Fame began in 1984, the first induction ceremonies were held in 1987 and today, the hall continues to be a focal point in the celebration of Saskatoon athletes, builders and teams.

Howard NixonThe idea of a Saskatoon hall was brought forward by Dr. Howard Nixon in March 1984, received City Council approval in September, 1984, and the first board of directors was elected in October, 1984.

The first board established the procedures and guidelines which would be used to honor Saskatoon people who have contributed to sports, either as athletes, builders or participants in a team sport. The efforts of the Board were strongly supported by the City of Saskatoon, the Saskatoon Field House management and the Saskatchewan Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.

Much of the criteria for honoring athletes, builders and teams came from the Saskatchewan Hall of Fame, which has been inducting noteworthy sportsmen and sportswomen since 1966.

Dennis Beerling, Pat Lawson, Chuck Sebestyen, Rocky Rochelle, Doug Knott, Les Howey, Bob Reindl, Don McDonald, Don Cousins, Ed Bryant, Jerry Shoemaker, Keith McLean, Dana Kidd, and Bob Fawcett have been presidents of the Saskatoon Sports Hall of Fame since its beginning. The members of the Board of Directors have been, and are, individuals who are keenly interested in the recognition of historic moments in Saskatoon sports.

At the inaugural ceremony held in January 1987, honours were bestowed upon 22 builders, 25 athletes and 10 teams. In ceremonies since, the Board has chosen to honour three to five builders, five to six athletes and one to three teams annually.

To be eligible, athletes must have been Saskatoon residents at the time which they represented their sport with great distinction; builders must have been involved in one or more sports for a period of 20 years; and teams must have won at a national, international or world championship level.

The public is invited to participate by nominating athletes, builders or teams; the applications go before an induction committee; and final approval of the committee's decision must come from the Board of Directors.

For their excellence in sports, the inducted members are honored at an annual ceremonies dinner, held in most early years at the Saskatoon Field House and, more recently, at TCU Place (formerly the Centennial Auditorium).