SSHoF logoNorm Gilbertson Team

Team (1990)


Canadian Police Curling Champions

Norm Gilbertson Team

For 11 years, the team of Norm Gilbertson, John McDonald, Dennis Read, and Robbie Findlater, has ruled police curling. From 1977 to 1988, this foursome won 11 Saskatoon championships, 10 Saskatchewan titles and four Canadian championships. At the city level, an operation to skip Norm prevented the team from curling. Their only loss at the provincial level came in 1984.

In addition to the four national titles, this talented team placed second twice, and third, twice. In national competition Gilbertson and company won 89 games and lost 21. For the last four years Findlater has been team manager of the Saskatoon Hilltops, Read plays indoor and outdoor soccer and Gilbertson participates in the competitive slow pitch league.

Norman Gilbertson (skip), John McDonald (third), Dennis Read (second), Robbie Findlater (lead)