SSHoF logo1980 Saskatoon Harmony Centre

Team (1991)


Canadian Senior Women's Softball Champions

1980 Saskatoon Harmony CentreTwo years after winning their first national championship, Saskatoon Harmony Centre won the Canadian women's softball title again. Within two seasons, manager-coach Bob Stayner took the team through a rebuilding process. There were only five players who played on both the 1978 and 1980 teams.

Saskatoon won the Saskatchewan championship, coming from behind to beat Lashburn in the final.

In the nationals at Hull, Que., Harmony Centre needed to win twice on the Sunday to take the B side honors. Because Agincourt, Ont., went through on the A side, Harmony Centre had to beat Agincourt twice in the A-B playoffs. Saskatoon won the first game 2-1, on seven strong innings from Brenda Staniforth and four relief innings by Shan McDonald. They won the second game, 2-0, behind the pitching of Irene Wallace.

By winning the Canadian title, they qualified to represent Canada at the 1981 World Games in Santa Clara, Calif., where they played very well and lost, 2-1, to the United States in the final.

Front row: Marilyn Donald, Nancy Bretnell, Jay Kost, Bonnie McAskill, Shan McDonald, Sherry Loubardias, Irene Wallace, Noreen Murphy, Sheryl Kleckner, Brenda Staniforth.
Back row: Bob Stayner ** (Coach), Patti Rowley, Diane Lynn, Darlene Solie, Sharon Klassen, Ann Tkachuk, Kim Cudmore, Pat Wegner, Peter Loubardias (Coach), Clayton Wall (Coach)

** Deceased