SSHoF logo1954 Bayne Secord Team

Team (1995)


National School Boys Curling Champions

1954 Bayne Secord TeamBayne Secord, whose Richlea team had lost to Saskatoon Tech in the 1953 northern finals, joined Don Snyder, Stan Austman and Don Brownell as the Tech representatives in the 1954 playoff hunt. Their coach was Ken Moir. Tech edged Bedford Road, 8-7, in the northern final and then defeated Regina Balfour Tech, 13-6 and 19-7, to win two straight in the best-of-three provincial final.

The Canadian championships were held in Hamilton where the Tech team won eight and lost one in the round-robin tournament. Their only loss came at the hands of Northern Ontario.

The championship came down to a sudden-death playoff between Saskatchewan and Manitoba, each with 8 and 1 record. Tech counted three on the first and three on the third to take early control of the game. When they finished the ninth, Tech was up, 9-7. Tech played a shaky 10th frame but then Gene Walker, the Manitoba skip, missed his last rock when he was looking for a chance for three. This left Saskatchewan with a single point and a 10-7 victory.

When Secord received the Sifton trophy from Clifford Sifton, it put the cap on a season where they won 19 games and lost only two from the northern playoffs through the Canadian finals. They became the third team from Tech ever to win the Canadian championship.

Don Brownell (lead), Stan Austman ** (second), Don Snyder (third), Bayne Secord (skip)

** Deceased

Full size photo